Heidelberg's ideal location on the N3 Highway between Johannesburg and Durban, only 50 km from Johannesburg City centre, and 60 km from Johannesburg International airport, makes it readily accessible to, and indeed part of, the entire Gauteng, the heartland of South Africa.
At the foot of the Suikerbosrand, Heidelberg began in 1862 as a trading station built by a german, HJ Uekermann. A town was laid out around the store and named after Uekermann's almamater.
During the First War of Independence Heidelberg served as capital of the Zuid Afrikaansche Republiek under the Triumvirate of Paul Kruger, PJ Joubert and MW Pretorius, from 1880 to 1883.
In 1885 the Witwatersrand gold reef was discovered in the Heidelberg district and the office of the Mining Commissioner was established there.
Heidelberg developed as a typical rural Victorian town. Many buildings dating back to the period between 1890 and 1910 have been preserved.
It's superb location, the high quality of life, safe clean environment an excellent range of amenities offered has not only attracted a significant base of major industries to Heidelberg, but has resulted in an influx of residents who commute daily to their place of work outside Heidelberg. This has resulted in Heidelberg having an abundance of skills and an excellent industrial infra structural base. Heidelberg also boasts one of the richest agricultural districts in the country with a highly diversified agricultural base. The town has excellent medical facilities, caters for all religious denominations, has 5 shopping centers, and boasts an exceptional range of sporting and recreational facilities. Heidelberg also has an excellent track record of being well managed, with a solid financial base and well maintained infrastructure.
AG Visser House
Van der Westhuizen Str. Dr AG Visser renowned early Afrikaans poet, resided and practiced as the local doctor in this house.
Concentration Camp Cemetery
View the graves of woman and children of who died during the Second War of Independence.
Diepkloof Farm Museum
20km On the Nigel road you would find the old restored farmhouse built in 1850.
Heidelberg Transport Museum
Opened in 1975 by the Rembrandt group as a service to the community.
Its name meaning 'stone church', the corner of this beautiful sandstone edifice was laid in 1890, 25 years after the finding of congregation.
Suikerbosrand Nature Reserve
The highveld reserve has a wide range of plants, birds and animal species. Clearly marked self-guiding hiking is laid out. Caravan, picnic and barbeque facilities are found in all parts of this large reserve.
The old Jail
The jail was built in 1888 and first served as a hospital and home for the underprivileged. The building has stood empty since 1963 when a new jail was built. It is now being restored.
During the Second War of Independence, the Boers built a .bakoond" over the water fountain to hide it from the British forces. In this way, they safe-guarded their supply of water.